Weekly Photo Challenge: Family

As dysfunctional as the Simpsons family may appear to be, look beyond the slapstick humour and what an obnoxious pig Homer is and you’ll discover that our own families may not be that different. And that’s not a bad thing.

What comes through very strongly if you watch enough episodes is the unconditional love they have for one another. No matter how badly Homer, Marge, Bart, Lisa or even baby Maggie screws up, they know they can count on one another for love, support and forgiveness. Every single time, no matter how many times. That says a lot for what it means to be family.

The Simpsons aren’t perfect. But hey, which family is? We all have our idiosyncracies and quirks. And yes, sometimes we drive each other nuts. Yet when things get rough, or on days when nothing seems to be going right, I know there are people who have seen me at my Homer Simpson-worst and still love me.

Like Homer, I’ve been blessed with a family who I know will be with me through it all – the terrifying lows, the dizzying highs and the creamy middle. And for that I’m thankful.

Shot above was taken when my youngest nephew was five. He’s nine this year, and is a delight to hang out with. Isn’t it amazing watching little people grow up? 🙂