What I Ate Today

20130917-071713.jpg

When things get busy around here, the first thing I toss out of the window are our healthy eating habits. Who has time to prepare healthy, whole food meals when the only thing you want to do is crash on the couch?

So I started telling The Hubs, “let’s just eat out today” Today quickly became every day, and for a while we were eating out all the time. For all meals. My energy levels dipped, and I was grumpy from the fluctuating sugar levels. I also felt guilty because well, we’re still trying to starve off The Hubs’ brain tumour, remember?

Eating out was saving me time but it wasn’t helpful because my body needed the nutrition more than ever to help tide through the daily stress. Comfort food was warm, inviting and yes, so comforting. But it was a false friend and the sugar highs and dips made me unproductive. So I adapted, let the small stuff slide and we’ve gotten back our healthy meals. Well, at least most of the time. Here are some things I learnt:

1. Bread is still the easiest in the mornings

20130917-174557.jpg

Breakfast today was 2 slices of 100% spelt bread with organic peanut butter and organic honey, topped with chia seeds.  We discovered that Swissbake sells Dinkelbrot which is basically spelt bread.  Dinkel (or Spelt) is an ancient grain, and has less of the evils associated with modern wheat.  It is known in Germany as “Dinkel”, in Italy as “Farro” and in many other parts of the world as “Spelt”.

2. Tap on leftovers 

20130917-205929.jpg

Leftovers make for an easy packed lunch the next day.  When cooking dinner on weekdays, I usually try to cook a larger batch so that I get to pack leftovers for the next day.  Lunch today was leftover fried rice from last night’s dinner.  All I had to do was chop up organic celery and throw in a hard boiled egg.  Not the healthiest of choices but I managed to squeeze in fresh vegetables.

3.  Stir-frys are a quick way to get dinner on the table

20130917-210029.jpg

Stir-frys are easy to prepare, flavorful and best of all, you can get dinner on the table in 20 minutes.  Prepare your ingredients the night before and you can probably get dinner ready in ten minutes.  Tonight, I did a quick stir fry of kale, carrots and onions topped with a tomato omelette.  And ooh, can I just make a quick mention that kale is now my new favourite vegetable.  Look at the amount of vitamins and nutrients it packs!

KALE-Info-large

Source: nutribulletblog.com

4 thoughts on “What I Ate Today”

    1. It was yummy! I know some people find kale bitter but I didn’t. Perhaps the bitterness was masked by the flavors of the other ingredients. Try it and let me know how you like it 🙂

Leave a Reply

