What I Ate Today

20130731-173440.jpgWhen you say yes! to everything and everyone, things can get a little overwhelming at times. I used to just suck it up and plod along because I felt that saying anything would make me look like a whiny baby. It’s taken me a long time to recognize that when I’m starting to get a little breathless, it’s OK to take a step back.

I took a day off work today because I felt I needed it. I slept in – something I haven’t done in at least 2 years. I resisted the urge to check work emails . I stopped myself from cooking and baking up a storm to stock up on healthy snacks for the next week.  I pushed away thoughts swirling in my head about the million and one things that needed to be done. Instead, I ran errands, met up with The Parents for a walk about town and chat, and enjoyed a sweet treat with The Hubs. It was just the thing I needed and now I’m all cheery and in love with the world again.

Here’s what I ate today. I adore my new phone app that allows me to easily put together these images and text, and am now a little obsessed with photographing my food. Anyhoo here’s a little tip for those trying to eat clean. I’ve learnt that it helps to not have junk food or processed stuff in the house. When I woke up this morning, it was tempting to just laze on the couch and snack on cereal or chips. Something I would have certainly done in the past. But since I no longer have processed food in the house, I was forced to work with wholesome, fresh ingredients or go hungry. And then you realize that hey, it really doesn’t take too long to boil an egg or chop up some carrots 🙂

20130801-224534.jpg

20130801-224542.jpg

20130801-224549.jpg

20130801-224556.jpg

20130801-224602.jpg

4 thoughts on “What I Ate Today”

  1. Now and then we must just take the day off and unstress for sure. You did a good thing and I am glad you enjoyed it. The food looks good! I’ve never eaten sushi. One day I will take a teeny bite. hehehe
    Have a great weekend. 😀 *hugs*

    1. It’s amazing what one day off can do. It did wonders for a very tired mind and it helped loads that I had a long weekend this week too! Hope you had a great weekend too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

