Eat Well : Spelt Scallion Pancakes

20130731-211322.jpgIf there’s one thing I cannot walk away from, it’s scallion pancakes.

Crispy. Chewy. Flaky. Fragrant.  Savory.  I find them irresistibly yummy.  Scallion or spring onion pancakes are standard Chinese fare.  Unfortunately, like many other standard Chinese dim sum fare, they’re made of refined flour.  I still indulge in a piece (or two!) when we dine out with family but most times, I stay away.

A few weekends ago, The Mom had a craving for some spring onion pancakes and shoved me a large bag of spring onions, accompanied by the sweetest of smiles.  I grumbled and warned that since I only had spelt flour at home, the only version I could attempt was a spelt version.  And I wasn’t sure how it would turn out.

All I can say is thank goodness The Mom had a craving. We made our first batch, and it was gone within minutes!  Other than the muddy brown color of the spelt flour, it was delicious!  And the spelt flour added a sweet, nutty flavor to the flatbread.

The entire process is quite easy.  Here’s how:

Chop up a cup worth of fresh spring onions.

Recently Updated60

Mix 2 cups of spelt flour with 3/4 cup of boiling water, pouring the water in a little bit at a time until the dough comes together.  Knead a few times to form a smooth ball.  Transfer to a bowl, cover with a damp cloth, and allow dough to rest for 30 minutes.

Recently Updated59

Before you start rolling out the pancakes, set up your assembly line with 1 small bowl of sesame oil, one bowl of spring onions, and flour to dust your workspace.  Since I don’t have a large area to work on in my kitchen, I simply use an overturned baking tray to flour and knead my dough.

Once you’re all set up, pinch out a portion of the dough, and roll out into a disc on a lightly floured surface.  Using your fingers, brush sesame oil over the disc and sprinkle spring onions on top.

Recently Updated61

Roll it up.

Recently Updated62

And twist your roll into a spiral.

Recently Updated63

Flatten your spiral into a disc. You can repeat the above steps once or twice more, if you like as it helps to create the flaky layers in the final product.  I’m lazy so I just did it once, and I found the texture to be great.

Recently Updated64

And now all you have to do is to heat up some sesame oil in a non stick pan and cook your pancakes until they are golden brown on each side.  Transfer to a paper towel to drain, season with salt and serve with a dipping sauce of your choice.

Enjoy!

Recently Updated58

7 thoughts on “Eat Well : Spelt Scallion Pancakes”

  1. I’ve never had those, but when I was at the grocery store today I was really eye-balling the scallions with this recipe in mind. But I didn’t get them. I have switched to spelt flour myself, though I don’t bake much. But I’ve been making these really delicious banana muffins for when I want a snack/sweet and the spelt flour works great! I’m doing terrible with my healthy diet right now, but I’m trying to get myself back on track. I’ve realized that consuming white/heavily processed flour really does make me feel pretty bad.

    1. I’ve found that processed stuff wrecks havoc on my system too. The funny thing is, I only realised this after cutting it out. Before that, feeling bad was the normal state and I never thought it could be different. Haha now I’m a big believer that diet makes a difference

Leave a Reply

