Hello there

20130506-093013.jpg

Wow, is it May already? The first half of the year has just whizzed by and I find myself just about to tell you that I’ve been sooooooo busy. But I catch myself. Because lately, I’ve come to realise that we say it so often, and loosely, with so little thought, that I don’t know what it means to be busy anymore.

Busyness. We wear it as a badge that marks our importance, and sometimes as a convenient excuse. We’re too busy to meet up with friends. Too busy to spend time with family. Too busy to get around to chores in the house. Too busy to exercise. Too busy for a vacation. Too busy to eat right. Too busy to blog.

Truth is, we make choices. About what’s important and how we want to spend our time. Busyness cannot become a mindless black hole that sucks up life.

I’m typing this post while waiting for my flight home from Fukuoka, Japan. The past week has been a glorious break from crazy work schedules and everything else that comes with it. We’ve spent the past couple of days happily enveloped in beautiful spring weather, gorgeous flower blooms, and the wonderful Japanese culture and people. Have I been busy? Maybe. I really don’t know. But I do know I’ve chosen to find some time to smell the roses. and they smell pretty great!

14 thoughts on “Hello there”

  1. Sometimes I feel super busy, when what I really am is just in a crazy fog. My mind gets overwhelmed maybe, I don’t know, and it interprets an inability to concentrate or settle down into “I’m SO busy!” Haha – sometimes our minds need breaks, too. I’m glad you had a good mental and physical break! But it’s always nice to see you back here ๐Ÿ˜€

    1. Haha I know what you mean! On days like that, I run around all busy but find that nothing gets done. I’m happy to be back – am sitting on a huge backlog of blog entries and a ton of blogs to catch up on!

  2. I’ve found that nothing is that important that it can’t wait another day (unless my house is burning down…..which I wouldn’t wish on anyone, let alone me!). Look forward to your posts from your visit to Japan! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

