Weekly Photo Challenge : Lunchtime

20130322-133359.jpg

This is what I had for lunch today.

Having sushi for lunch isn’t a big deal but what was remarkable for me was that I was eating lunch alone. In a restaurant.

Eating alone used to freak me out. Would it make me look sad and lonely? What was I supposed to do while waiting for my food to arrive? Would it be weird to make eye contact with other diners?

It made me so uncomfortable that I would rather not eat at all when alone. And it seems that I’m not the only one who feels this way. According to a CNN article last year, โ€œHate Dining Solo? Site Offers a Solutionโ€œ, many women found eating alone terrifying. And many of these women were bright, strong businesswomen who had no problems making multi-million dollar decisions in a boardroom. Yet they could not handle the thought of sitting alone in a restaurant.

“If no colleagues or business partners are around, I just don’t eat. I can’t remember when I last had a meal out on my own,” says Banfi, head of records management and operations at Guinness World Records.

I’ve come a long way. These days, it no longer scares me to walk into a restaurant and ask for a table for one. What’s changed? Age I think. As I get older, it bothers me less and less what other people think. Plus I’ve figured everyone else is more interested in their meal than in me.

Today, I enjoyed my sushi while catching up on blogs. It was nice.

I’ve finally let go of the school cafeteria in my head. So, I’m eating alone. Meh.

12 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge : Lunchtime”

    1. I think it may. That was probably when we first learnt that it was uncool or sad to be eating alone. It meant you had no friends. Funny how these things stick to you even through to adulthood.

  1. Good on you! Me, if I’m on a business trip on my own, I’d rather eat alone than not eat ๐Ÿ˜‰ I can’t say I enjoy it but if there is something to read whilst waiting for the food, it’s fine.

  2. Good for you! I used to feel the same way. I got over my insecurities when I worked in a restaurant and had at least one meal there every shift. I managed the gift shop and would sit at a table alone and do work and eat. It bothered me just the same at first, but then it got to be really natural feeling. Sometimes I’m glad to be alone – it’s a treat to go to a restaurant, and I get to read or write or catch up on blogs ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. You brought up a good point about it becoming natural. It felt weird for me at the beginning too and I was very self conscious. After a while, it didn’t become so scary. I suppose this is how it works for most things. The more we go outside our comfort zone, the more we’ll find ourselves growing and doing the things that used to freak us out ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Hello!! I’ve missed you ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad to see you around again. Give sushi a try one of these days and you may like it. Not all of it is raw, and it’s a fun way to eat Japanese rice and fish!

  3. Practice makes perfect with everything — and that includes eating alone. A book is handy, or an idea to think about. And skilful picking of the best restaurants for solo dining.
    BTW: The salmon roe on that sushi just mesmerized me, I kept imagining my teeth delicately breaking the “bubbles” open, and how delicious they would taste.

Leave a Reply

