TGIF

All I wanted to do this evening was to crash on the couch, feel sorry for myself and give in to a marathon session of True Blood.  It’s been one of those weeks where it feels like nice people really finish last.  And it sucks.

Instead I headed to the supermarket, picked up groceries and made fried rice.  I’ve learnt that the best thing to do when you’re down in the dumps is to just keep moving.  And I was right.  The process was strangely therapeutic.  I had wound myself up into a giant uptight knot all week.  But as I stood at the kitchen counter mindlessly chopping up vegetables, I could feel that knot easing.  My brain that had been locked up in an endless stream of ‘whys’ and ‘why bother’ finally shut up, so I could hear the tiny voice in my heart.

Difficult people exist and there’s nothing we can do about it.  Every day, there will be people who will drive recklessly into our lanes, cut our queue, be rude to us, shirk responsibilities, make unreasonable demands and the list goes on.  I can choose to let these people affect me or I can choose to remain true to myself. Even when it feels like I’m on the losing end.

 

“People are often unreasonable and self-centered. Forgive them anyway.
If you are kind, people may accuse you of ulterior motives. Be kind anyway. 
If you are honest, people may cheat you. Be honest anyway.
If you find happiness, people may be jealous. Be happy anyway.
The good you do today may be forgotten tomorrow. Do good anyway.
Give the world the best you have and it may never be enough. Give your best anyway. 
For you see, in the end, it is between you and God. It was never between you and them anyway.”

 

― Mother Teresa

. Organic red wild rice .

. Fresh organic pea sprouts – jammed packed with anti-oxidants .

. Organic baby carrots .

. Toss everything together and you get a delicious dinner and a soothed soul .

17 thoughts on “TGIF”

  1. Excellent sentiment for a Friday after a mad week. I cooked a simple spinach, bacon and black pudding omelette for us this evening. Very tasty and done in 5 minutes. Now on the couch with a bottle of wine.
    Enjoy the weekend,
    Conor

  2. How delicious! What a great way to turn the week around. I really wished cooking was therapeutic for me. I got asked to work after hours tonight. I only thought my weekend was here. :-/ Thank goodness it was only a few extra hours. 🙂 Enjoy your weekend.

  3. I love your words!! It can be so, so hard to take the knocks and arrows that life throws at us. But we can choose to be true to ourselves! I’m glad that slowing down and cooking an delicious meal – making something with your hands – helped you to quiet your mind. I am going to think about this the next time I have a stressful time and only want to curl up in a tiny little ball and escape.

  4. Gorgeous, gorgeous pics!
    No worries, happysherlock. We all have those kinds of moments, those moments we, alone, feel so out of life, and moments against unwelcome-d others. 😀 It’s not always sunny, unless you’re in Philadelphia.

    Isn’t dangerous for you to be cutting vegetables while under the spell of contemplating life? Bwahahahahahaha

  5. Great post…I love that you made a decision to do something for yourself that helped you feel better. Cooking is love, in this case, love for yourself, which is healthy.
    I love the Mother Theresa quote as well; it really fits the post.

Leave a Reply

