There’s nothing plain about this place

How can you not try the coffee at a place with a sign like that at the door? ๐Ÿ™‚ We headed down to The Plain – a Melbourne-inspired cafe just outside the CBD area for breakfast some weeks back. ย There’s nothing fancy about this place but its cosy, laid-back vibes just makes you want to sit back with a coffee and relax. ย Food was good, and more importantly – they serve a mean cup of coffee. ย Let me justย leave you with these photos …

Darling’s Eggs – a very satisfying brekkie of

poached eggs, ham and roma tomatoes on sourdough toast

Humpty dumpty and vegemite soldiers

– Dippy eggs with vegemite on buttered toast sticks

Genovese coffee – made how you like it

Where is this?

The Plain Cafe
50 Craig Road #01-01 (near Duxton Road)

16 thoughts on “There’s nothing plain about this place”

  1. So . . . I take it this place is NOT a chain, right? If so, I would Google it right now! That egg, tomato, biscuit dish looks incredible!

    Oh, and I completely agree with the sign in the window ๐Ÿ˜‰ Same goes for people who have passion for food, art, music, etc… Hopefully you don’t think me strange for saying, but there is a sensuality in using the senses God have us; each one invokes something new an unbridled.

  2. As long as I have coffee, breakfast can wait. But that first entry of yours looks pretty darned good. I might have to fix that myself one morning.

  3. Your pictures make everything look scrumptious! I want that top dish right now this morning, but as soon as I hit your ‘post comment’ button I will be having a bowl of bran flakes with shredded wheat on top!

      1. Haha me too!! ๐Ÿ™‚ That’s why we love heading down to places like this that serve all-day breakfast! Yummy breakfast food anytime of the day ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. LOL! I will go and drink coffee there for sure too! hehehehe
    Great shots and now I’m hungry. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thanks for sharing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. I’m a vegemite fan too! ๐Ÿ™‚ This is a cafe in Singapore that was inspired by the Melbourne cafes. Lucky you – I love Australian cafes – the best cuppas I’ve had were from Perth and Melbourne.

Leave a Reply

