I can’t believe it’s not deep fried!

. Oven baked Onion Rings .

I really must stop surfing Food Network.  It always always makes me hungry.  With a craving for onion rings late last night, I sliced up a couple of onions and tried out this oven baked recipe.  And it was amazing! Without having to deep fry or use a single drop of oil, the onion rings still came out crispy on the outside and rich and tender on the inside.  A great supper snack without the guilt.

You will need:

  • Two large onions (sliced into rings)
  • Breadcrumbs (I used a mix of crushed Ritz crackers and corn flakes seasoned with garlic salt)
  • 1 cup of buttermilk
  • 1 egg (lightly beaten)
  • 2 tablespoon of flour
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 220 C.  Soak onion rings in buttermilk for at least 15 minutes or best for a few hours.

Set up a coating station of (1) flour (2) egg (3) breadcrumbs.  Dip coated onion rings into flour, shake off excess and dip in egg followed by breadcrumbs.

Place on cookie sheet and bake for 20 minutes until golden brown.

** The breadcrumbs become clumpy easily, which then makes it difficult to coat the onion rings.  Suggest to spoon breadcrumbs into the coating dish for only 1-2 onions rings at a time.  Clean out and refill with fresh breadcrumbs after every 1-2 rings.

** Don’t skip the flour.  It makes it harder for the onion rings to be coated with the breadcrumbs if you don’t coat it with flour first.

7 thoughts on “I can’t believe it’s not deep fried!”

    1. Thanks! I read somewhere that if you whip heavy cream in a mixer long enough – about 10min , you’ll end up with butter and buttermilk. Not sure if it’s worth the effort though 🙂

      1. I was going to ask about the buttermilk. My mom taught me to put a bit of lemon juice into regular milk and you’ve got the equivalent of buttermilk. I’ve always used that method (so I don’t have to buy buttermilk when I only need a small amount) and it’s worked fine. Since the onion is soaking in it, as opposed to using the “buttermilk” as an ingredient in a recipe, I was wondering if that would still be okay.

        The photos are gorgeous – I want to try this out for myself!

      2. That sounds like a great way to get the equivalent of buttermilk. I’m always trying to figure out how to use up a whole carton. I’m not sure if it’ll work for onion rings though cos the buttermilk is supposed to help tenderize the onions. But it’s worth a try 🙂

Leave a Reply

