No naked salads, thank you.

. Breaded Chicken Salad with Buttermilk Basil Dressing .

I like my salads drenched in dressing.  Not the healthiest way to eat I suppose but it’s the yummiest.  My only problem? I like all kinds of dressings, and I’m always game to try new ones.  But because I pick my dressings to suit my mood for the day, I end up with bottles of dressings in my fridge.  Only to find the bottles still full but past the expiration date a few months later.  Such a terrible waste, I know.  Oh, why don’t they make mini tiny bottles of salad dressing for people like me?

Then while surfing the net for recipes this weekend, I stumbled upon recipes for homemade salad dressings.  Gah, why didn’t I think of it earlier? It’s brilliant.  You get to make whatever you feel like, in the quantity that you need and exactly how you like it.

I tried a simple ranch dressing today and it is so ludicrously simple to make that I don’t think I will ever buy another bottle of dressing from the store again.

You will need:

(This makes about one and a half cup of dressing)

  • 1/2 cup of mayonnaise
  • 1 cup of buttermilk
  • 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of basil or herbs of your choice
  • 1/4 teaspoon of paprika
  • 1/2 tablespoon of lemon juice
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Just whisk everything together and refrigerate for a few hours to let the flavors all come together.  In terms of proportion, except for the ratio of mayonnaise to buttermilk, you don’t have to follow the recipe exactly – just mix and match according to how you like it.

Keeps for a week.

Leave a Reply

