What’s for lunch?

That’s right! I baked bread today!  Gluten-free rosemary beer bread to be exact.

Bread making isn’t something I usually bother to attempt.  Just thinking about having to manage yeast and the whole kneading and rising process is enough to tire me out.  It makes more sense to just head down to Cedele to pick up a loaf.  That was until I saw this recipe for beer bread.  No need for yeast and the blah – all you need is a can of beer, mix everything up and voila! you look like a culinary goddess with a loaf of freshly baked bread.  I was intrigued and attempted a loaf using gluten-free flour this morning.

It really was that easy – you just need flour and a can of beer.  Any beer.  Mix everything up, pop into the oven for 40 minutes or so, and you end up with warm, crusty bread.

I toasted up a couple of slices and made grilled cheese toast for lunch.

My only problem? I forgot I hate beer *faceplam*  When the recipe said Beer Bread, I thought it simply meant you use beer as a clever replacement for yeast.  Not that it would taste of beer.  Sigh.  To be fair, it was good beer bread.  The texture of the bread is quite dense and has a great sweet/salty taste with a wonderfully textured crust.  I thought it tasted better toasted but I guess that’s because I don’t really like my bread dense.  Toasting makes it a little less “gummy” in my books, and the cheese helped mask a little of the beer flavour.  In the end, i ate up the crust and picked off my cheese.  Thank goodness, I also made a side of baked broccoli which was delicious.

Recipes below.  Attempt only if you like beer.  Also, don’t use gluten-free flour – I think it makes the bread even more dense.

Beer Bread

You will need:

  • 3 cups of all purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon of baking powder
  • 11/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 4 tablespoon of sugar
  • 1 can of 12oz beer (I just used one regular can of Tiger beer)
  • 3 tablespoon of butter

Preheat oven ot 190 C.  Lightly grease a 9 inch loaf pan.
In a large mixing bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt and sugar.  Pour in beer, and mix until a stiff batter is formed.  Scrap dough into prepared loaf pan.
Melt butter and brush across top of dough, and sprinkle rosemary or favourite herbs.
Bake for 40 minutes or until toothpick inserted into centre comes out clean.

Baked Broccoli

You will need:

  • Broccoli (chopped into bite sized pieces)
  • Breadcrumbs (I just use crushed Ritz biscuits)
  • Cheddar cheese
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Heat oven to 220 C
Toss broccoli with olive oil, salt and pepper.  Add in breadcrumbs and toss well.
Bake for about 8 minutes until broccoli is tender.  Top with cheddar and pop back into oven for a couple more minutes.

Leave a Reply

