Great weekends are made of these

Catching up with a dear friend over a homecooked meal.   Cooking does take a little more effort but nothing beats homemade goodness.  And I'm beginning to love feeding my favourite people πŸ™‚  Having a leisurely meal and chat with a friend at home is one of the best ways to spend a Saturday afternoon.


                            . Organic asparagus and spinach quiche .

You will need

Crust (makes 1 9-inch quiche)
1 cup organic flour
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/4 cup organic olive oil
1/4 cup ice water

Mix flour and salt with fork.  Beat oil and water to thicken.  Pour in flour and mix with fork until you get a breadcrumb like texture.  Press into 9-inch pie dish.

Filling
Organic spinach
Organic asparagus
3/4 cup of organic cheddar cheese plus 1/4 cup as topping
2 organic eggs (lightly beaten)
11/2 cup of organic cream (I couldn't find organic cream so I mixed 1 cup of organic milk with 1 cup of organic yogurt)
Organic salt and pepper to taste

Pre-heat oven to 200 C.  Pop in crust to pre-bake for 10 minutes while you prepare the filling.
Blanch asparagus until tender and set aside. Chop up some into small pieces and leave some for placing on top of quiche
Fry spinach until just wilted and set aside
Whisk eggs, stir in cheddar cheese and organic cream and chopped up asparagus
Place spinach at bottom of crust, and then pour in egg/cream mixture, giving a stir to make sure everything is evenly distributed
Arrange asparagus on the top and sprinkle cheese on top
Bake for 35-40 minutes until done.

Let it cool down it little before serving

……………………………………………..

Spending my Sunday afternoon with one of the cutest kids around.   Of course I may be biased but I think my god-daughter is super cute πŸ™‚  A kid's birthday party is never terribly exciting for adults but it's nice to be invited to share the love.  And when it comes to friendships that have lasted through the years, sometimes, it's important to make the effort to just hang out.


……………………………………………….

Cooking for the people I love.  Did I mention how much I love feeding my favourite people?  I was on a roll this weekend.  I cooked BOTH lunch and dinner for The Hubs.  And I had promised to make pizza for my parents for months but never found the time.  Today I managed a special delivery for them – made just the way I thought they would enjoy it – very Chinese with very little cheese.  Absolutely worth the effort when my mom loved it.


                             . Pizza topped with bbq chicken, onions and capsicums .

Click here for recipe for pizza dough

2 thoughts on “Great weekends are made of these”

  1. Thank you πŸ™‚

    Hi dear, thank you so much for making time and effort to cook an organic meal for me everytime I visit. And most of all, thank you for the friendship all these years. It gets harder and harder to find people with whom I can speak heart-to-heart with as I age and I am glad to have you as one of my close friends. πŸ™‚ We shall meet up again. Probably sometime early next year??

    1. Re: Thank you πŸ™‚
      You’re most welcome – I’m happy to cook for those close and dear πŸ™‚ Anyhoo, you’re a good influence – I ate a whole lot of apples last weekend! Early next year is good – prob after the CNY hols?

Leave a Reply

