What’s for dinner?

. Simple Teochew Porridge @ Home .

. With onion omlette .

. Stir fried organic cabbage and fresh shitake mushrooms .

. Sweet and sour tofu .
 

These days, I beginning to surprise even myself.  I’ve gone from someone who once dumped bee hoon straight from the package into the wok (didn’t occur to me that there was a need to soak them!) during my home economics exam to someone who is able to whip up a simple dinner.  I suppose as with everything, all you need is practice.  And the will to learn.  Of course, it helps if you’re greedy. πŸ™‚

You will need:

Stir fried cabbage

  • 1 small head of organic cabbage (I find the organic ones much sweeter than the regular ones)
  • Fresh shitake mushrooms (stemmed and thickly sliced)
  • 1 teaspoon of dried shrimps (soaked for 10 min and cut into small pieces)
  • 2 cloves of minced garlic


Stir fry garlic and dried shrimps until fragrant.  Add mushrooms and drizzle soy sauce.  Add in cabbage and simmer until cooked.

Sweet and sour tofu

  • 1 block of firm tofu (like the regular chinese tofu)
  • 1 egg (beaten)
  • 1/2 cup of all purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoon of ketchup
  • 1 tablespoon of white sugar
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 red chilli (sliced)
  • Salt and pepper to taste


Cut tofu into 1-inch cubes or thicker.  Place them on kitchen towels on a plate, cover with kitchen towels and place something flat and heavy on them for about 20 min.  This helps drain the tofu of water.

After tofu is drained, dip cubes in egg and cover with flour. Set aside.  Heat frying pan with oil and pan fry tofu pieces until golden brown.  Mix ketchup, water and sugar.  Sprinkle chilli slices over tofu, add ketchup mixture and mix everything together until sauce thickens.  Serve hot.
 

7 thoughts on “What’s for dinner?”

  1. Wah…you chef-ess
    I must say that whenever I read your entries and see the photos of your culinary adventures, I go “Wah….!”. You really have a knack for cooking lor. I think it’s talent. You do so many yummy things which are so enjoyable to read about and see. (Yes, aunty SC is still a foodie even though she has gone organic ;))
    Continue to enjoy your cooking (and keep the postings coming), which is way healthier than eating out!
    πŸ™‚

    1. Re: Wah…you chef-ess
      Thanks for the encouragement πŸ™‚ Now that I’m cooking, I often shudder at how much oil and salt goes into stuff we eat outside. Baked a brownie last weekend and the recipe called for 2 cups of sugar. Couldn’t bring myself to do it and only dumped in 1 cup. So yup, overall my eating habits are now a little healthier. But hor, I also realise that my cooking only suits those who have crossed over to the land of less sodium, less oil, less sugar.

  2. Culinary Exploits πŸ™‚
    Hi, tried to leave a comment but it didn’t get posted apparently. Just wanted to say that I have enjoyed reading about and of course, actually seeing the outcomes of your culinary exploits!:) I think you really have talent in cooking – they look yummy and you make it sound so effortless (except for the spring onion pancakes and radish cake but even then, they looked very yummy!). Keep the posts coming! Aunty SC still is a foodie at heart even though her menu has become much more restricted. πŸ˜‰

  3. Oops
    Oops, just saw my comment did get posted after all! Sigh. Aunty SC has been confirmed left behind in the field of technology…..am still carrying my laupok Ericsson non WAP enabled HP. ;P But happy with it!
    Anywayz, low salt, low fat, low sugar can still be very yummy! I have crossed over into the low side and have become absolutely converted. I think there’s no turning back for me! πŸ™‚

    1. Re: Oops
      Hi Aunty SC
      Problem is with livejournal. Been having a lot of issues in the last few weeks with posts appearing like 1-2 days after I write them. Yay, me like converts. Shall cook for you again one of these days when you come over to catch up πŸ™‚ Just made dinner tonight for a friend who’s quite a healthy eater, but even he asked to add salt. That’s when I realised my threshold for salt has really become quite low!

      1. Re: Oops
        Sure, would love to catch up! it’s been ages hor? When u free? Wld love to try your cooking but no need if it’s too much effort. Just a chitchat at your home would be great, and I could eat my own food without concern of being turfed out. πŸ™‚ Is May 14 ok with you?

Leave a Reply

