Blank pages

"New Year’s eve is like every other night; there is no pause in the march of the universe, no breathless moment of silence among created things that the passage of another twelve months may be noted; and yet no man has quite the same thoughts this evening that come with the coming of darkness on other nights."  ~Hamilton Wright Mabie

I wonder what it is with New Year’s eve that brings about a certain sense of wistfulness for some people.  I just spent the past hour reading my own blog.  A bad case of narcissism?  Not quite.  Just a case of a really bad memory.  The year seemed to have whizzed by, leaving me in a blurr and not sure what the hell just happened.   

Looking back at the year, I am thankful that we’ve had more ups than downs.  We’ve learnt some lessons the hard way, but have grown a little wiser (hopefully!).  We’ve made some decisions which required a leap of faith.  While change is never easy, I am thankful that we seemed to have pulled through quite nicely.  Often times this year, I’ve felt that life is nothing but one big rush.  From one event to another.  One project to another.  Pushing through the weekdays only to find the weekends too short.  And I have found myself breathless and exhausted.  But I see that in the midst of all the madness, we’ve found time for loved ones, to travel and to indulge in stuff that makes us happy.    I’m thankful that the year has not ended with unfulfilled dreams and goals.  Nor am I left with list of things "I wish I should have done".  Life isn’t always perfect but I’ve learnt to be grateful for small mercies.

Tomorrow is another day.  For endless possibilities and a new adventure.  But then again, so is every day.

Happy New Year!

One thought on “Blank pages”

Leave a Reply

