Quick and dirty

This week was one of those weeks when I found myself stuck at home with no fine dining options.  In the past, I would have simply dug into my stash of instant noodles, sit in front of the TV and happily slurp up msg-laden soup.  Unfortunately, I lost my myojo (heh, heh get it? … never mind…) some years back. 

This is what happens when you marry a guy who sincerely believes that instant noodles are poisonous.  As newlyweds stocking up our new kitchen, I realised to my horror that instant noodles were on some kind of blacklist.  And in this marriage, the rule is whoever feels more strongly about an issue wins.  He won.  From that day onwards, our kitchen was instant noodles-free.  Once in a blue moon, I would get a get-out-of-jail-for-free card and be grudgingly allowed a couple of packs.  And this is where I tell you the world has turned upside down. 

After going cold turkey for a couple of months, I could no longer stomach instant noodles.  I would take a greedy mouthful and spit it all out – disgusted by the salty chemical taste of it all.  At first, I thought there was something wrong with the brand I bought.  But brand after brand, it was all the same.  I had completely lost it.  Now I only eat instant noodles when I’m back in Hong Kong or at a Hong Kong cafe. And of course, the ones that are passed off as Korean noodles at the foodcourt.  Nothing else works. 

Pasta sauces have become my emergency food stash.  And my favourite is the Marks and Spencer range.  Especially their carbonara sauce – creamy with just the right amount of cheese – it’s so so yummy.  All you have to do is heat up the sauce and pour it over your pasta.  And if you like, you can pop the whole thing in the oven for easy baked pasta.  Or use it as a dip and eat it with warm slices of bread.

I never thought I would say this but … who needs instant noodles?  Heh.

Leave a Reply

