Just cloth and beans


I couldn’t resist picking up a pack of these when we were at The Children Little Museum.  Priced at $1, they didn’t feel like a rip-off and I figured it was a small price to pay for nostalgia.  Five stones were a big part of my growing up years.  They were a staple game during recess at school and I remember lazy afternoons playing with my mom.  Most kids those days had homemade five stones.  Except me.  I think sewing genes don’t run in my family.  My grandma attempted to make me some but filled them with too much rice, and it really felt like I was playing with stones.  In the end, I did what I usually do.  I bought some from the school bookshop – problem solved. 

The Hubs and I attempted a game some days back.  We foolishly thought that the game would now be a piece of cake.  I mean, we now had much bigger hands, didn’t we? Turned out we fumbled even during the first stage.  Admist howls of laughter, we finally managed to complete one game – with pretty sad scores.  Oh well, important thing is, the game did bring back memories of much simpler times.

Leave a Reply

