Aw … I really NEED this

I love these black quilted ballet flats from New Look.  Lined with soft leather, they’re incredibly comfy and go with just about anything.  Just so you have an idea of how much I love these ballet flats, I need to confess that I own SEVEN PAIRS of them – 4 in black (have I told you how much I love them?), 1 in baby pink, 1 in a really cute cow print and 1 in brown.  At last count, I also own over sixty pairs of shoes.  That’s a lot of shoes for one person.  No wonder my mom always asks if I’m a caterpillar. 

A few weeks ago, I was cleaning the house and as I started wiping down the wadrobes, I realise that I must love a lot of things.  I own way too many cardigans for a sane person.  Way too many pairs of jeans for a person who hardly wears jeans.  And the same goes for camisoles, tops, dresses, bags – my wardrobe is overflowing but it’s never enough.  Yet, I have boxes of clothes packed in storage boxes, still in their shopping bags and with their tags intact.  And the worse part?  Some mornings I scratch my head and whine that I have nothing to wear.  I think I might have a problem.  

How can one person need so many things?  I suppose a big part has to do with the fact that I love shopping.  Shopping makes me happy.  Seriously, it does.  It’s just my thing.  But shopping also creates a whole lot of stuff in the house.  Stuff that I don’t really need.  And after years of retail therapy, it’s beginning to get a little blur between stuff that I need and stuff that I want.  A need is defined as something that you have to have, something that you cannot live without.  But for us shopaholics, we know how it’s so very easy to rationalise a want as a need.  Like how I really, really NEED a new Kate Spade bag.  Can’t sleep without it.  Therefore, "need".

That day, as I was sitting on the floor with a dirty rag in my hand, it suddenly hit me that this was absolutely ridiculous.  Nobody needed this much stuff.  I figured it was time for a change.  

I’ve embarked on a de-cluttering spree.  Actually, it’s not so much throwing away stuff but trying my darnest to only buy things I need.  Nothing else. 

It’s been a few weeks now and I’m doing pretty okay.  Shopping makes me happy but I’m discovering that so do other things.  I’m spending more time baking, playing with the cats, taking walks, brushing up my tennis, checking out new places.  Perhaps it’s age but I’m hoping to simplify my life a little.  I just want to go with the essential stuff and do away with everything else that does nothing but add to clutter.  Wish me luck.

As you simplify your life, the laws of the universe will be simpler; solitude will not be solitude,
poverty will not be poverty, nor weakness weakness.
– Henry David Thoreau

2 thoughts on “Aw … I really NEED this”

  1. I love decluttering too!
    I am delcuttering too. Just opened up many boxes that had been in storage for years! Old photo albums and other stuff. Good luck with your tiding up. 3 basic rules when you make a decision – Keep, Trash or Donate. The problem is when we want to keep everything!

Leave a Reply

