The master carpenter

"Pray as if everything depended on God and work as if everything depended on man" – Francis Cardinal Spellman

I’m terrible at saying prayers. I often don’t have the proper words and am completely hopeless at stringing a prayer together on the spot. I can even forget the words to "Our Father" if you make me say it out loud in public. For me, praying has always been simply a conversation with God and unfortunately, God gets to hear me at my worst. He hears my senseless ramblings, my panicky insecurities and ridiculous, desperate pleas. My words are often clumsy, politically incorrect and come out in a jumble. For the past week, all He has been hearing from me is this: Dear Jesus, I need a carpenter. I can’t build the bloody thing myself. You’re a carpenter, right? I’m leaving this in your hands. Amen.

And while it was not the most articulate of prayers, He found more than ten carpenters to finish a job that would normally take 2 weeks in 3 days.

Let me always remember to slow down, take a deep breath, and take to heart these words – Be Still and Know that I am God.

Leave a Reply

