I smell good enough to eat

I started my first SLS/SLES/paraben-free product a couple of months back when I tried a bottle of Ahava body wash when it was on sale.  I have dry skin and am too lazy to moisturise so my skin is usually quite, um …  scaly (sorry, couldn’t think of a better word).  The effects of the body wash were immediate.  After the first wash, my skin was visibly softer and now after 4 months, I must say using a natural shower gel has proven to be a lot kinder on my skin.  Initially, at S$20 per bottle, it seemed a little pricey but the 500ml bottle lasted 3 months so that works out to about $6 per month for healthy skin.  Sounds okay to me.  Plus the good thing about the Ahava wash is that it doesn’t leave a film on your skin and even though it’s SLS-free, it still lathers well enough so you don’t feel unwashed even after your shower.  The best part?  The amazing scent, especially the Bamboo and Pansy wash.

The bad part about stepping onto this path is that there is no turning back.  With the opening of Sephora at Ion, I couldn’t resist checking out their range of natural products, especially stuff from Burt’s Bees.  I tried to fight it (I swear I did!) but lost and walked out of the store with a giant grin and a bottle of the Burt’s Bees Pomegranate and Soy shampoo and Earths Organics Cucumber and Mint body lotion.

The shampoo is also SLS/paraben free but lathers well enough and was able to wash off the clay I use to style my hair.  Again, it has an amazing scent.  Actually, it kinda smells like I washed my hair with cranberry juice.  The Earths Organics body lotion is also worth a mention.  I hate moisturising because most body lotions leave a sticky, icky feeling all over.  But this body lotion from NZ is quickly absorbed within 10 minutes with no stickiness and yes, again, it smells heavenly.

SLS/SLES and paraben have gotten a lot of bad press in recent years, and yet there have also been studies that say that there is nothing to worry about because the levels found in our shower gels and shampoos are very low.  I suppose there’s no need to kick up a fuss since we’ve all been using products with SLS/SLES/paraben since we were kids and seem to have turned out alright.  But given how easy it is now to get organic products, I’m going to try and "naturalise" most of my skincare products.  Although seeing how incredibly good  these 3 products smell, I have a sneaky suspicion that they’re not that natural afterall.  Anyhoo, I’m going to do a little more research and will update if got good things to share!
 
Leave a Reply

