Meet my new therapist

"Hi, my name is … and I am a shopaholic"

No, seriously, I’m not kidding.  I really, really think I’m addicted to shopping.  I’ve given up shopping for Lent this year and my god, the first 2 weeks were hell.  I experienced pretty much the same withdrawal symptoms as a person giving up smoking, I think.  There were the tremors (ok, I may have imagined these), anxiety, irritation and while I was not exactly depressed, I wasn’t on my usual high either.  Ooh, and did I mention the dreams?  I’m still getting them and in these dreams, I’m  in a tiny shop surrounded by gorgeous clothes and everything is ON SALE and dirt cheap!  So I grab a basket and keep shoving clothes in.  For those few brief, precious moments, I am deliriously happy.  Then I wake up.

Anyhoo, I’m okay now and will probably last till Easter Sunday (it’s next week!!) without crumbling into a pathetic heap on the floor.  In fact, I’m proud to say that I walked away from a fabulous Nicolas black dress that was going for only $89 and a black ruffle top which I had been eyeing for a while and now on sale for only $29 (with my size still available *sob* )

I would like to say that the reason I’ve managed to do so well is constant prayer but I really shouldn’t lie during Lent and must confess that like most addicts, I’ve simply traded one addiction for another.  Shopping has always been my comfort blanket in times of stress, and with it gone, I’ve reached out for comfort food.  These days, I’m constantly thinking potatoes, ice cream, chocolates, bread, waffles and pancakes.  So instead of hitting the malls, I’ve been trawling the supermarket aisles in search of stuff to satisfy my constant cravings.  And I’ve  discovered an easy recipe to make the ultimate comfort food – macaroni and cheese.  With this baby, you’ll be sitting on your sofa with a piping hot tray of cheese mac in 30 minutes max.  Let’s just hope I’ll still be able to fit into most of my stuff come Easter Sunday.


Here’s the recipe:

All you need is a pack of instant cheese mac mix.  I use the San Remo Macaroni Cheese mix and follow the instructions on the package.  Then transfer the prepared pasta into a baking tray, cover it with grated cheddar cheese and bake at 230ºC for about 15 minutes or until the top is golden brown.  Here’s a little tip: Use a disposable baking tray so you don’t have to spend too much time washing up later.   

For those of you with a little more pride than me and want to make cheese mac from scratch, here’s a recipe off ChubbyHubby’s blog: http://chubbyhubby.net/blog/?p=489 
I must say it looks absolutely delicious and if you’re trying it out, save me a portion can? 🙂

Leave a Reply

