White and fuzzy with a cold, black nose

If New Year’s Day is any indication of how the rest of the year is going to be then 2009 seems off to a pretty great start.  The first few weeks of the year have been filled with lots of good food, laugh-till-your-stomach-hurts moments and loads of catching up with some of my favourite people.  The Hubs and I are not social creatures.  We are … hmmm.. what’s a complete opposite?  I was going to say a hermit crab but here’s the useless trivia of the day: contrary to popular belief, hermit crabs are social animals.  The only thing I can think of is a polar bear in winter.  Nothing makes me happier than being curled up at home, in my jammies, with a good book and my dvd box sets.  You know how some people really like attending stuff and meeting interesting new people?  Me? Just the thought of having to get dressed and worse, having to make small talk is enough to give me the heebie-jeebies.  I realise that as I get older, I just want to spend time with people I really like.  And the truth is, there are only just about that many people who I would make an effort to get out of my jammies for.  Which is partly why I’ve resisted setting up a Facebook account.  Not that I haven’t been toying with the idea for a while because there’s where everyone seems to be – uploading photos, playing games and sending each other stuff.   But adding acquaintances and long-lost primary school friends is too much of a social networking activity for a polar bear.  At the same time, this bear isn’t contented with just reading a status update on Facebook for the people who really count.  So rather than spend time maintaining an account, I think I’m going to try harder and spend the time catching up either through an email or sms.  Yup, this is the polar bear way complete with friendly nudges from a cold, black nose.

Leave a Reply

