When pushed, anyone can cook


 
You wouldn’t believe this.  I had a sudden craving for quiche at 1am and ended up dreaming about quiche all night.  So when I woke up this morning, I NEEDED. TO. EAT. QUICHE.  Not just one slice of it but like … a whole pie of it.  So the only logical conclusion my fuzzy, quiche-deprived brain arrived at was that I NEEDED to make quiche.  At this point, I must confess that I have never made quiche my entire life.  In fact, before today I hadn’t the faintest idea what goes into quiche.  This is why the Internet is probably the greatest invention of all time.  A quick google threw up hundreds of recipes and it turns out that making quiche is really a piece of cake.  Even a kitchen-challenged idiot like myself could manage it my first time round.  All you need are eggs, milk (or cream), frozen shortcrust pastry and whatever else you decide to plonk into it (e.g. bacon, ham, mushrooms).  Throw everything together, pop it into the oven for about 35-40minutes and it’s ready to eat.  It is so easy that I cannot believe that Cedele has the audacity to charge $4 per slice.  I am so never buying quiche again. 

Here’s the recipe for the mushroom quiche I made today if anyone’s interested.
Ingredients

  • 1 sheet of frozen shortcrust pastry (thawed)
  • 2 eggs
  • 2/3 cup of milk (or cream)
  • Butter
  • Mushrooms ( I used brown mushrooms)
  • 1/2 onion (sliced)
  • 1 tablespoon of basil leaves
  • 2 tablespoons of grated tasty cheese
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  • Pre-heat oven to 180C
  • Fry sliced mushrooms, onions with butter
  • Press the puff pastry into a shallow pie plate.  Blind bake for about 5-10 minutes.
  • In a small bowl, beat together eggs, milk, cheese, basil, salt and pepper.  Mix in the mushrooms.
  • Pour the mixture into the pastry and bake for about 35 minutes or until firm or until a fork stuck in the middle comes out clean.
2 thoughts on “When pushed, anyone can cook”

  1. Looks really good!
    Yummy…it takes effort to make this…shopping for the ingredients and putting them together requires time and patience…and you did great!
    From Pam 🙂

    1. Re: Looks really good!
      Thanks! Funny thing was, because I already had bought the ingredients and didn’t want them to go to waste, I made quiche back to back on 2 days. Aiyo, now I have absolutely no more craving for quiche anymore. 😀

Leave a Reply

