I’m such a late bloomer

For the first twenty-odd years of my life, I just didn’t get beach vacations.  I couldn’t understand paying money to do absolutely nothing.  The sun? The sea? The sand? Yeah, big, fat, hairy deal.  You see, I was raised in a family that doesn’t do beach vacations.  We’re the same family that went to Hawaii and didn’t even step foot in water.  When we went to the Gold Coast, we took a cursory look at the beach and decided to go shopping.  In Phuket, we barely spent 5 minutes at the beach.  Actually, I don’t even think our feet touched the sand.  This is why The Hubs had to drag me to our first beach holiday some years  back, with me resisting and fighting him all the way because I was so sure I was going to die of boredom.  Now, we try to go for a beach vacation at least once a year.  Why? Because doing nothing once in a while is good for your soul.  I’ve discovered the joys of taking peaceful walks on the beach, watching the sunset, relaxing with a good book by the pool, napping to the sound of waves gently lapping on the shore, enjoying the cool, salty sea breeze.  Our beach vacation this year in Langkawi was a good change from the usual hustle and bustle, and for four whole days, our bodies, minds and souls got a much needed break.

Leave a Reply

