Soul searching

I realised a couple of weeks back that erm … I’ve never really read the bible.  I’ve probably flipped through it once or twice but actually sit down and read it? Never.  In fact, until a few weeks ago, I didn’t even know if the Gospel of John came before Mark or was it Matthew that came last?  The sad truth is that if I was ever captured by a bunch of religious fanatics and given a biblical quiz to save my life,  I am most certain that I will surely die.  What came as a bigger shock was that The Hubs – the pagan of all pagans – has read the bible.  He didn’t understand what the fuss was and told me it would be easier if I just skipped all the “beget … beget” stuff.  Sadly, this Catholic had no idea what he was talking about.

Which got me thinking about the kind of Catholic I am.  I mean, it’s not so much of what I do but rather what I don’t do.  For starters, I don’t really know much about my religion which is not surprising considering that I daydreamed through most of my Sunday school lessons.  Ask me to tell you about the Catholic faith and I’ll be stumped for words.  I suppose you could say that theoretical knowledge about one’s religion isn’t as important as one’s relationship with God.  And this is true to a large extent.  But still …. it doesn’t seem quite right.  It’s like a piece of the puzzle is missing and if nothing else counts, well … it’s embarassing.  

Anyhoo, I started to read up on-line and as it turns out, I really know zilch.  I suppose I could continue drifting along in blissful ignorance or I could start bucking up.  Well, I’ve decided that I can at least try.  First stop, I’ve got to go look for my bible and wipe the dust off.  And then there’s a whole lot to read up about a religion with a 2,000 year-old history.  Turns out I might just take The Hubs advice and skip through all the “beget … beget” stuff.  Just for a start.

Leave a Reply

