P.S I Love You

First up, there are a few things you must know about me.  No. 1 – I do not cry at the movies – not ever.  The Hubs thinks I have issues with suspended belief.  I think sappy movies are boring.  Period.   No. 2 – I am not a romantic.  I am the same person who watched The Titanic and laughed at how fat Kate Winslet was while everyone else was sobbing away.  I read the Bridges of Madison and scoffed at how idealistic that love affair was.  C’mon, do you seriously think it would have lasted?  No. 3 – I do not cry at the movies.

And yet, ten minutes after watching P.S I Love You on the plane, I was practically bawling my eyes out.  Based on a bestselling Irish novel, this movie stars Hilary Swank and Gerard Butler as young married couple, Holly and Gerry.  Gerry dies of a brain tumour, leaving a devastated Holly who holes herself up in her apartment until one day, she begins to receive a series of letters from Gerry that help piece her life together. 

I was doing alright until the scene after the funeral service.  It shows Holly going home alone to her empty apartment with Gerry’s ashes.  She goes to their bedroom and puts him on the bed.  Then not knowing what else to do, she undresses, climbs into bed and calls his phone over and over again just so that she can listen to his voice on the answering machine.  That totally did it for me and the tears started spilling.  Thank goodness the lights were off in the cabin and I had the whole row of seats to myself.  

I don’t know what hit me but rather than admit that I have turned into a sappy romantic, I’m blaming it on the fact that it was 1am and I was exhausted.

Pass the Kleenex, please.

Leave a Reply

