Lent

 Every year, I give up something during Lent.  It’s a little something I do simply because it’s the least I can do.  Most years, it’s shopping.  And it’s always during this time that I’m convinced God has a sense of humour because this is always when I discover great buys and dirt-cheap sales.

Anyhoo, this year, I figured giving up shopping would be too easy given my recent spree in Perth so I’m giving up meat.  Yup, you heard me.  I’m not sure how well I’ll do given that I’m a carnivore.  So far it’s not been too bad.  I’ve been bringing salads to work and there’s always the choice of fish.  I’m still chewing my veggies with the same intensity as meat so I’m a noisy salad eater.  And my system’s been wondering how come there’s now so little stuff to process so I get diarrhea in the mornings.  Well, we’ll see how this goes.  Maybe next year, I’ll be able to make the ultimate sacrifice – time.

Leave a Reply

