How do I love thee

I love TV.  No wait, I love, love, love TV.  It’s like an old friend that I seek solace in.  A security blanket I cannot do without.  I wake up to it, fall asleep to it, it’s great company when I’m alone and when I’m sick or stressed, TV soothes and calms me.  I watch anything – stupid comedies, bollywood movies, news, documentaries, ads, reruns – I don’t really care just so long as there’s TV.  But get this, I ended up marrying a man who doesn’t watch TV.  I know, the irony of it all.

So imagine my panic when I found out that our room in the Maldives didn’t come with TV.  What? No TV in paradise? FIVE WHOLE DAYS WITHOUT TV?!   It was like being 6 years old and grounded all over again.  I fretted over what I would do without my trusty companion.  I imagined painful withdrawal symptoms.  I asked The Hubs if we could change resorts.  Must.  Watch.  TV.

Surprisingly, I emerged unscathed.  Ok, I must admit that there were times when I craved it and my fingers itched for the remote.  But overall, I didn’t miss it that much.   I woke to the sight of morning sunlight falling gently into the room and was lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves.  I finally had time to read.  It was lovely.

Anyhoo, having gone cold turkey for almost a week, there’s plenty of catching up to do.  Excuse me, I have to go watch Criminal Minds now.
 

Leave a Reply

