Love me, love me not

Let’s see.  How do I say this without sounding like a twittering looney?
My cats love me.  They really really do.

There has always been a long standing argument in our house whether the cats love us or that they’ll love anyone with half a can of tuna.

All doubts were laid to rest last week.  While we were away, we had the cat-sitter come over.  We armed her with cans of tuna and a basket of new, exciting toys.  And being the experienced cat-sitter that she is, she brought her own yummy goodness in the form of the Royal Canin kibble which even the fussy pot (yes, I’m talking about you Moof@) couldn’t resist.

Now, if we were to assume that our cats, being cats, are self-centered creatures then it wouldn’t have mattered that we were missing for over 3 days.  After all, they were in the comfort of their own home, lazed around in their own beds, had their favourite toys and were never hungry.

Boy were we wrong. When we first walked into the kitchen, they had this look “OMG. Is it them? Have they really returned?” and this was followed by purring and whining and kneading for TWO WHOLE DAYS after.  Moof@ kept following us around with this urgent , high-pitched whiny meow to be picked up and cuddled and Flyb@ll who has never been a lap cat, buried his big furry head into my lap and took a nap.

So it’s true.  My cats do love me.

Next up, I’m going to try to prove that Flyb@ll sings along during our neighbour’s karaoke sessions.

11 thoughts on “Love me, love me not”

  1. Finally – My phone is going to let me leave a comment on your blog!

    Well…

    I don’t really have anything to say. I’m glad your kitties missed you, though; it’s very sweet.

    1. Thanks Michelle! 🙂 This post was from way back in 2007. I saw it yesterday on the dashboard marked private, thought it strange and unmarked it. I didn’t realize it would pop up as a post. But it does bring back memories of when they were just over a year old . Kitties are much older now and the great thing is they still miss us loads when we go away 😀

      1. I was wondering about that, because I hit previous to comment on some other recent posts and I kept seeing unfamiliar posts. I thought, “WHY am I not getting these in my inbox???” Then I saw 2007. I went back to the present (can you do that?) and those posts STILL won’t let me comment. I’m so sad about that! I don’t get on my home computer as much to do my blog reading :(.

      2. I have problems commenting using my phone too but mine is a case of the entire thing crashing after a while – very frustrating especially when I have to do it all over again. Hopefully it’s a bug they’ll fix soon. I’m still thinking about your being nice post – shall comment once I get back home 🙂

    1. Thanks Sonel 🙂 I haven’t been able to capture the singing, I’m afraid. The other bit I’ve been trying to capture is some of the howling and barking that Flyball does to get attention. He really is a dog trapped in a cat’s body!

    1. Thanks Marcy! Before I had the cats, I didn’t get it when people talked about how their pets had such incredible personality and how smart they were. THEN I had my own cats, and now I totally understand! 😀

Leave a Reply

